A Small Business Take on Social Media

 

This week we are going to take a look at a small business and their social media. We will look at what they are currently doing, what they should be doing differently, and what they can do in the future to expand their media presence.

The business we will be looking at is Skalicky Electric Inc. bases out of Hinckley, Minnesota. This electric wiring company is owned and operated by Mark Skalicky with the help of his wife Mary. Mark and Mary have run the business together for over 30 years now, and have no plans of quitting any time soon.

So, now that you know a little history on the business, let’s look into their social media; or lack thereof.

The Interview

Q: What social media platforms do you currently use for Skalicky Electric Inc.?

A: None. Neither Mark or Mary use social media themselves. “We don’t know how, and at our age we aren’t gonna learn,” Mary Skalicky said.

Q: Would you ever consider using social media as a way to get your company into the public eye?

A: Perhaps, but they both agreed that they don’t think it’s necessary. “I haven’t had too much trouble finding work so far. Word of mouth works just fine around here,” Mark Skalicky said.

Q: What is your biggest struggle with joining social media for your company?

A: “We have no clue where to even start,” Mary said, “and I work a full-time job outside of the company, so I don’t have hours to spend working on it.”

Q: Do you see social media ever becoming a part of your company in the future?

A: They were both unsure of this, but starting to open up to the idea. “We’ll see,” Mark said, “If you really think we should we might just give it a try.”

The Takeaway

After talking to the couple behind Skalicky Electric Inc. I immediately knew that they needed some help to keep their business going and growing in this day and age. To be competitive in the current state of our world, you must stay connected in any way possible.

In fact, if you don’t get your business on social media, someone else might put it there for you. For example, due to multiple people searching for Skalicky Electric Inc. on Facebook, the site created a page for them. The problem with this is that Facebook only uses information that they can find on the search, which means that there is no guarantee that it is accurate. Even worse is that the age is very blah and doesn’t present the greatest image of the company.

The Fix

First off, social media isn’t as scary and intimidating as some may think. Anyone can learn to do it, and at any age. I know there are a lot of different sites out there, but like I have stated in previous posts, just start with one and move on from there.

Businesses need social media. It’s as simple as that. Mark and Mary both believe in word of mouth, which isn’t a bad thing by any means, but that can only get you so far. Soon enough your friends and relatives aren’t going to need you to work for them, and then where do you turn to? With social media, you have an entirely new pool of people to offer your services to.

Another thing that Mary was worried about was having time to take on social media. This is a common misconception. Getting your business into the world of social media really takes no time at all. All it takes is a few minutes a couple times a week to get started. Then, as long as you are consistent, you can use it as much or little as you want to.

Social media won’ t be a waste of time, and it will help your business in the long run. If you don’t know where to start please take into consideration what I have said in The Fix section of this post. Or do what Skalicky Electric Inc. plans to do and have a younger friend or family member help get you started.

~Jennifer

14 thoughts on “A Small Business Take on Social Media”

  1. I never understood why certain companies and businesses don’t use social media. For myself and for the generation I grew up with, if you’re not on social media, you aren’t anywhere. I guess it’s simply because those business owners don’t know how to use those sites. Because it comes so naturally to me, I didn’t realize that the answer was that simple. But I do agree that it is easy to pick up on and that the need for a company to be on Twitter or Facebook grows stronger everyday. If this electrical wiring business ever changes ownership, I bet social media will become apart of the business strategy soon after.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree. It’s all about getting over the fear of social media. Hopefully, they won’t have to wait for a change in ownership before they get over that fear.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really found this interview to be really cool, As the son of a woman who runs two small businesses, it was interesting to read the interview and compare and contrast the strategies displayed in the post to what is currently being done by my mother. I am definitely going to be sharing this blog with her! I appreciated how you were able to look at the subjects from an objective point of view and discuss strategies that they can work on in order to better themselves. I feel like it allows people to learn and grow from real life decisions that other people make!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that you like my post, and please do share it with your mother. Also, tell her to feel free to reach out if she has any questions. I’m here to help!

      Like

  3. They don’t use social media for their business? That’s so unheard of nowadays. But, I suppose word-of-mouth works for them, given that they are based in Hinckley, MN. It’s really unfortunate that they don’t use social media because their business could get so much busier and could potentially create a lot of traffic. Those electric companies around them could have such an advantage over their company if they don’t hop on social media soon! Good interview.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you. Electric contracts are very competitive, and they are falling behind some of the other companies. I do credit this to their lack of social media and I hope that they’ll take my advice and give it a try.

      Like

  4. This was probably my favorite post of yours so far. It is easy to understand, and the company you used for your example works perfectly. I hope Mike and Mary the best with their company and social media. Are they going to hire you to help them with social media or what are their plans now? Overall, I think you did well at showing why social media is important in this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! In answer to your question, I will not be helping then with their social media. They said that if they do decide to give it a try, they will have their grandson help them to start off at least.

      Like

  5. Jennifer,

    This post was especially interesting for me because I have worked at a small business for almost 6 years now and when I started there was no social media presence whatsoever. My manager of 3 years and I being younger knew this needed to change so we took on the challenge, and rather than being a hassle like my boss thought it would be, it has been fun and has created a lot more business for us. I agree that many older people have the misconception that it’s going to be very time consuming and challenging, when in reality it’s not as long as you stick to a plan, like you have mentioned in previous posts. I liked that you included interview questions with direct quotes while giving a little background on the business beforehand. Great and informative post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I’m glad to hear that things are going good for the small business that you work at. Just remember to keep engaging viewers, but be careful to not flood them with content.

      Like

  6. I completely understand where the Mr. & Mrs. Skalicky are coming from. My mom runs a small business in the cities and sometimes I’m just shocked by her complete lack of social media presence. When I bring it up to her, she just tells me she doesn’t have the time to run the business and social media at the same time. I guess been a part of this generation, we just have normalize been heavily involved with social media that we don’t consider it anything other than the norm. This was a completely relatable post for me. Great read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I hope you show this to your mom and it help to convince her that social media presence is a necessity in the world we live in.

      Like

  7. Jennifer, I thought your post was a great balance to one of your earlier posts talking about over-usage of social media. I can definitely understand where the owners are coming from with their social media blackout, not because I don’t think they need it, but with how fast it’s overtaken the corporate world it’s probably difficult to adjust after running a business for so long without it. The interview was great at showing the differences between the old way of running a business compared to the necessity of social media to be successful today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

