The General Consensus

This week I’m going to be doing something a little different. I have gathered information from posts from five different bloggers.

The bloggers I have selected are Brian Solis, Peter Shankman, Dave Fleet, Adam Sherk, and Arik Hanson. Each of these bloggers are very respected in the world of Public Relations. I will be looking at a post from each of them that have to deal with small business and social media.

Clearly, these posts are covering the same topics that have always been covered on my blog. What will make this post so different from others of my own is that I will let their blogs do the talking instead of telling you my own thoughts and ideas on the matter. So, let’s see what they all have to say.

Brian Solis

The post that I would like to bring to your attention from Brian Solis is called “Dear Startups: Disrupt Yourself To Disrupt The Industry.” This article is all about how startups can come from anywhere, and can be done by anyone. It also discusses a little bit about how Solis got his start in the industry, and what he does other than blogging.

To read the full article, click here. I highly recommend that you check out the interview video.

Peter Shankman

The post to note by Peter Shankman is called “Seven Ways For Small Biz To Generate Revenue With Social Media Right Now.” This post is exactly what it sounds like. It takes a look at seven various types of businesses and talks about how each of them can use social media to generate revenue right away. Shankman also discusses his purpose behind the post. He talks about how he presents these things at conferences all the time, but realizes that not everyone has time to attend such events. So, he posted them online for the convenience of everyone.

To read the full article click here.

Dave Fleet

The post to focus on by Dave Fleet is called, “Startups: No You Don’t Need To Hire A Social Media Expert.” This post talks about all the reasons that social media is important for your business, but why you shouldn’t hire someone specifically to manage it. Fleet instead suggests that you pull from within your current staff and find those who can help with your social media from the inside.

“You’re better off focusing on your product/service, democratizing your digital efforts and hiring broad communications skills when the time is right.” ~Dave Fleet

To read the full article click here.

Adam Sherk

The post I would like you all to focus on from Adam Sherk would be “5 Ways That Social Media Impacts SEO.” This article may seem a little out of place as it is more so directed towards authors and publishers but, like much advice about social media, can be applied to your small business as well.

In his post Sherk discusses how social media likes and links affect where your business shows up in Google search results. He then goes on to discuss how this in turn brings more traffic to your websites. The post also goes into depth on each of these five ways and how to carry them out.

To read the full article click here.

Arik Hanson

The final post I would like you to take a look at would be Arik Hanson’s post titled, “Why is good social media training so hard to find?” This article is talks al about how hard it is to find decent social media training today. Hanson acknowledges that everyone today seems to know a little bit about social media, but it’s hard to find true experts who can really teach others about it. He also discusses the things that many people lack and could benefit from learning about in the world of social media.

To read the full article click here.

I hope that you found all of these posts to be helpful to your business in some way. Remember, we can always better ourselves and make our business stronger. So please take these posts into consideration when working on your businesses social media.

~Jennifer

17 thoughts on “The General Consensus”

  1. This was a really interesting post, I liked the varying opinions on the field of social media within small businesses. Posts like this are always interesting because they show the levels of depth that even something like social media for small businesses and social media. I thought it was interesting that Dave Fleet mentioned that small businesses shouldn’t hire a social media consultant and instead hire someone from within the company to run their social media, While it totally makes sense, I guess I just hadn’t thought about that situation from that perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. And I felt the same way about Dave Fleet’s post. It sort of surprised me, but at the same time it does make a lot of sense; especially for small businesses that have lower budgets.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed reading your post and all the different insights that came from each of the bloggers. I especially appreciated Peter Shankman’s post because I liked his-bluntness haha, but I liked that he mentioned what works for different types of busineses–whether it’s a restaurant, realtor, or a marketing/PR firm. I liked the part where he mentioned “It’s not about social media. It’s about being smarter and realizing that social media is simply another marketing channel to which you should be leading your clients” .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I appreciated you finding such a wide range of bloggers and topics for this post. You seem to really understand what you are talking about and I am glad I have the chance to read over your work. I am excited to hear your next post and hope to hear more of your opinion and thoughts of how pr should work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am certainly no expert, but if I can help anyone understand PR a little better, then I feel like this blog is doing its job.

      Like

  4. I thought all of the articles you posted brought up great individual points that people underestimate. People hear about companies like Google and Apple starting in a garage so they go and find a garage then expect the same results without putting in the same amount of smart work. These articles touch on those problems well, I agree that not everything has to be overly complicated when it comes to social media because a lot of it should come from your own personality if you’re promoting the idea that you came up with. An outside “expert” isn’t going to be able to translate your message as well as you can. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And you’re right. It is better to have someone on the inside, who really understands your business and ideals, handling your social media rather than a total stranger.

      Like

  5. Jennifer,

    As always, your posts are so helpful and informational for anyone in college, and especially those who are graduating soon. No matter what kind of business we go into I think these kinds of things are so beneficial and are even more so necessary to learn and know to make yourself stand out from other applicants. It’s also nice to have some expert knowledge in this area in general for future reference on anything that’s going to help you in the business world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I believe that what we learn in the classroom is valuable, but any outside knowledge we can access is a big help as well. It’s the things you know that others don’t that gets you the job.

      Like

  6. I like how you took and compared the five bloggers themselves instead of their blogs or sites. Social media is definitely a powerful tool so it’s interesting to see the five blogger’s posts. I think most people in our generation definitely have a head start when it comes to social media and working with it. I could see how it would be extremely difficult to train someone in social media, because everyone has their own tastes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And that’s so true. Every business is different, so hiring someone from the outside to do social media can easily lead to problems.

      Like

  7. I like the roundup of all of the different blogs. Though I am biased and want a job in social media/public relations someday in the near future, startup companies could totally be handling their own social media. I know of a few business where they just assign a young and hip employee to handle the social media accounts for their business. Kind of interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I completely understand where you’re coming from. When starting off businesses don’t typically have the budget for someone to do them. However, once their company hopefully takes off, it can be beneficial to have a person designated to social media.

      Like

  8. I love doing social media marketing, so every week I look forward to reading your post the most. I love the various bloggers you link in this post because they all seem to be very informative and I identify so much to what they say because as easy as social media marketing seem, sometimes it gets frustrating and difficult when you’re not getting the result you are looking for upfront.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that you enjoy my posts! I get a lot of my inspiration from the bloggers that I linked to in this post, so make sure you check out more of their content as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

